Elected Officals

Commissioner Al Schmidt

Al Schmidt is a former senior analyst at the non-partisan U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) – the investigative arm of Congress. He assisted members of Congress, both Democratic and Republican, in conducting oversight of government agencies, programs, and policies – anywhere that taxpayer dollars were spent – to identify and eliminate waste, fraud, abuse, and mismanagement. Al held a top secret security clearance and was responsible for offering ideas to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of government agencies – including in the national security arena – that resulted in improved performance, better interagency cooperation, and cost savings for taxpayers

State Representative Martina White

Elected to her first full term in 2016, Martina, a financial advisor and lifelong resident of Northeast Philadelphia, was first elected on March 24, 2015 in a special election to fill an open seat in the 170th District. She became the first new Republican elected in Philadelphia in 25 years. The 170th District includes the neighborhoods of Bustleton, Millbrook, Parkwood and Somerton Martina’s most notable bills would create a sustainable funding source to help our schools without increasing the burden on taxpayers; protect our police officers and their families; and to make sanctuary cities liable for damages committed by illegal immigrants who commit crimes against citizens. Martina currently serves on the Urban Affairs, Health, Consumer Affairs and Judiciary committees. The first member of her immediate family to graduate from college, Martina received her Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from Elizabethtown College.


State Rep Thomas Murt

Rep. Thomas Murt is a dedicated and tireless public servant who has served for many years as a School Director and Township Commissioner prior to being elected to the House in 2006. He was most recently reelected in 2016. For the 2017-18 legislative session, Rep. Tom Murt has been appointed to the Human Services, Commerce, Children and Youth, and the Labor and Industry committees. Murt was also named the Republican chair of the Human Services Subcommittee on Mental Health.

State Rep John Taylor

Since being elected in 1984, Rep. John Taylor has confronted the problems and challenges faced by his native Philadelphia with a determination that reflects the working-class attitudes of the city neighborhoods he represents. John continues to focus on finding solutions to critical issues that impact the families and communities of his district and the surrounding region.

Councilman Al Taubenberger

A Philadelphian, born and raised, Councilman At-Large Al Taubenberger was sworn into office on Jan. 4, 2016. As a freshman council member he serves as Chair of the Committee on Aging as well as Vice-Chair of Global Opportunities and the Creative/Innovative Economy. Councilman Taubenberger proudly serves on more committees than any other member of City Council. Councilman Taubenberger has years of government experience having served for former US Congressman Charles Dougherty, City Councilwoman Joan Krajewski and City Councilman Jack Kelley.


Councilman Brian J. O’Neill

Brian J. O’Neill (born December 23, 1949) is a Republican Councilman representing the Tenth District on the City Council of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He has served since 1980. O’Neill was first elected to Council in 1979, when he defeated incumbent Councilman Mel Greenberg on a campaign built on Greenberg’s perceived apathy for the position. He introduced the Philadelphia blunt ban in May 2006, which was adopted and signed by the mayor.[4]
He is currently the Council’s Minority Leader.

Councilman David Oh

David H. Oh is a member of the City Council of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Oh was elected in November 2011 and re-elected in November 2015, and was the first Asian-American elected to public office in Philadelphia. He is the only U.S. military veteran currently serving on the city council.